Daniel Brodie, MD

Daniel Brodie, MD Specialties: Pulmonology, Critical Care Medicine

Daniel Brodie, MD
Specialties: Pulmonology, Critical Care Medicine


CUIMC/Milstein Hospital Building
177 Ft. Washington Avenue
New York, NY 10032

insurance iconinsurance icon
Insurances Accepted

Please contact the doctor's office to verify that your insurance is accepted.

  • Emblem/GHI
  • Emblem/Hip
  • Local 1199
  • Magnacare (National)
  • Medicare
  • Multiplan
  • RiverSpring
  • UnitedHealthcare

about iconabout icon
About Daniel Brodie, MD

Daniel Brodie is the Section Chief for Critical Care at the Milstein and Allen Hospitals, Director of the Medical ICUs, Director of the Adult ECMO Program and the Director of the Center for Acute Respiratory Failure. He is the Chairman of the Executive Committee for the International ECMO Network (ECMONet), and a member of the Board of Directors and the President-elect of the Extracorporeal Life Support Organization (ELSO). Dr. Brodie is a primary or co-primary investigator for multiple ongoing and upcoming studies in ECMO and ECCO2R.

Hospital Affiliations

  • NewYork-Presbyterian / Columbia University Irving Medical Center
  • NewYork-Presbyterian Allen Hospital


  • Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS)

  • Critical Care

  • Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO)

  • Intensive Care

  • Mechanical Ventilation

  • Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine

  • Pulmonary Disease

  • Pulmonary Embolism

  • Pulmonary Hypertension

  • Respiratory Failure


  • Fellowship: NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center
  • Internship: Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Medical School: Cornell University Medical College, NY
  • Residency: Johns Hopkins Hospital

Board Certifications

  • Critical Care Medicine

awards iconawards icon

  • 1999 Alpha Omega Alpha, Cornell University Medical College
  • 2002 The Daniel Baker, Jr. Memorial Award, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Osler Medical Service
  • 2004 Medical House Staff Teaching Award for Fellows
  • 2007 Medical House Staff Teaching Award for Faculty
  • 2008 The Daniel V. Kimberg Memorial Junior Faculty Teaching Award
  • 2009-2012 The Ewig Clinical Education Award
  • 2012 Patient Centered Care Physician Champion Award, New York-Presbyterian Hospital
  • 2014 to present, Editorial Board Member for the ASAIO Journal
  • 2017 Invited Co-chairman, Round Table Conference on ECMO (37th ISICEM)
  • 2019 Fellow of the Extracorporeal Life Support Organization (FELSO)